Biblical Contradictions in Chart Form.

Posted on February 16, 2011. Filed under: Atheism, Religion |

This is a nice little graphic illustrating contradictions found in the Bible, the infallible testament of God.   Before someone points out that some of them are written twice, I have noticed this as well on two occasions.  This graphic still illustrates over 400 contradictions in scripture, which is supposed to be an infallible document according to literalists and those who believe in a plain reading.  Given the number of times that contradictions occur it is, I believe, indefensible to assert that the Bible contains no errors.

Thanks go to The Reason Project for the graphic and Jeremy Witteveen at Le Café Witteveen for the find.

 

Over 400 contradictions at your fingertips.....

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

33 Responses to “Biblical Contradictions in Chart Form.”

RSS Feed for Misplaced Grace Comments RSS Feed

Out of curiosity for the conversation that might follow from this post, I’m adding a comment so I can be notified about comments.

Otherwise, I’d act too cool to comment.

🙂

Cheers. Thanks for the repost.

I don’t know, Jeremy. Dan likes to pick and choose which arguments he gets into; he has ignored many of my comments in the past. His idea of “winning” usually entails ignoring 5 criticisms, choosing one, and vaguely defending his position from authority. He might make a reasonable defense, but don’t bet on it….

I had no one in mind when I commented.

I didn’t want to miss out if anyone did respond.

If anything, I was thinking about posting about your testimony and now Sinned’s.

Keep up the good work.

There I go with my presuppositional commenting again…..
My bad.

Dammit, I was going to post this today, but now I can’t because I’m sick and tired of my blog looking like a mirror of Lousy Canuck and Misplaced Grace!

At any rate, thanks for the reminder. I’ve been working on Part 2 of my testimony and during my third rewrite I realized I need to flesh out the section where I began falling away from my Christian belief. This chart offers a great example of why Biblical contradictions became one of the biggest of the myriad of reasons why I lost the faith.

Hey Sinned,
Before you go using terms like “falling away”, you know, like I did, you might want to read the brilliant apologetics of Debunking Atheism. Dan left a link to why there is no such thing as an “ex-Christian” and perhaps you might wish to address that in your coming post. His links are in my testimony post.
I bet your answer will look something like mine, but a shade less polite.
I am really looking forward to your post, hope you are done soon! Sorry for stealing your thunder….

Dammit, how did that thread get up to 45 responses without me knowing or contributing to it?
I’m crazy busy with a Cisco project at work, but once it’s over I’ll start digging through that thread and offer my indispensable contribution. It’s already an old thread, so it won’t matter if I wait a little while longer!

And yet, the hundreds of contradictions that are painfully obvious to others seem to escape fundamentalist believers. Willful blindness is a powerful thing . . .

George,

I really wish not to get into any lengthy discussions about this subject since its so tired and old, but I will point out that most all of these, from what I can read, has been addressed many years ago, and the atheistic dogma that is repeated is common and expected. The dogmatic salesmanship of Harris is certainly lacking.

If you are willing to be honest, unlike Sam Harris (champion of reason) and his cronies, then you will be forced to concede to the fact there are no real contradictions to speak of.

Dan Barker tried to do the same thing in his book, One of Dan’s big claim in his book of a Bible contradiction was Ahaziah’s age, 22 or 42? (2 kings 8:26,2 chronicles 22:2)

With simple trust and reading one can figure it out very quickly. For example,

“Earlier, in 2 Kings 8:17-18, the author mentions that Ahaziah’s father (Jehoram) was 32 when he became king, and died eight years later at the age of 40 (2 Chronicles 21:5, 20). Obviously, Ahaziah could not have been 42 at the time of his father’s death at age 40, since that would make the son (Ahaziah) two years older than his father (Jehoram). Thus, the correct reading of Ahaziah’s age is “twenty-two,” not “forty-two.

The simple answer to these queries is that a copyist, not an inspired writer, made these mistakes. In the case of Ahaziah, a copyist simply wrote twenty instead of forty.” apologeticspress.org

Barker and Harris threw the baby out with the whole message because of a typo? Whatever!

Finally, assuming that the Bible is not evidence for God because you do not believe God exists, is question begging.

Dan,
Again, I appreciate having someone with a different point of view here. I do not want my blog to be a one sided approach to these questions. Every reasoned opinion is welcome here though not without critical analysis.
If there are these well known “typo”s in the bible then why not correct them? You would assume that the most widely read book on earth might have less unintended errors after so many years in print.

Finally, assuming that Naturalis Historia is not evidence of Minotaurs, Dragons, and Monocoli because you don’t believe Minotaurs, Dragons, and Monocoli exist, is then equally question begging. So is assuming that the Koran is not evidence of Mohammad’s Revelation. Or assuming that the Book of Mormon is not evidence of Joseph Smith’s Revelation from God. Should I continue?

George,

>> You would assume that the most widely read book on earth might have less unintended errors after so many years in print.

You have to understand the implications behind arbitrarily changing His Word. To try and “fix” God’s Word is blasphemous, especially for the scribes back then. These writings are open and exposed for what they are. No one covered the stories up to make it sound better, like a mere woman finding Jesus’ empty tomb instead of a more respectable man. No one DARED try to “correct” God’s Word because these writings are, the most sacred thing on the entire planet for all of man kind. To try to “fix” things would muck it all up. So, no cover up needed. It is what it is. Its a non issue. The mistakes of the pen (man) shows our fallibility, all the while the infallible Word of God STILL shines through. You certainly do not need contradictions to discount the Bible from a man’s intellectual perspective. You have to come to terms with a talking donkey, Noah actually built an ark and brought in the animals two by two and lived over 900 years, that Jonah was swallowed by a whale, that Samson killed a thousand men with the jawbone of an ass, that Daniel was really in the lions’ den, that Moses really did divide the Red Sea, and that Adam and Eve ran around naked…and ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. Simple and rare typo’s are not the issue for the unbeliever by any stretch. Its also a non issue for the believer.

So there are typo’s…where’s the problem?

“If sinners are converted by the intellect (the wisdom of men), they will fall away by the intellect. If they are merely argued into the faith, they will just as easily be argued out of it whenever a respected scholar reports that ‘the bones of Jesus” have been found. However if sinners are converted by “the power of God,” they will be kept by the power of God. No intellectual argument will cause them to waver because they will know the life-changing reality of their conversion, and their faith will be secure in the eternally solid and secure Rock of Ages.” (Evidence post)

Hey George,

I’m never less dumbfounded when I come across a completely different “Christian” writing responses on blogs in the exact same language, voice, and rationale that I had when I was in middle school.

Reading Dan’s “logic” is like ripping a page out of one of my childhood journals and publishing it on this blog … 20 years later.

With each experience, I think, “That’s it. This is the last time I’m going to be surprised that someone else talks exactly like I did as an awkward, pre-pubescent version of me.

Apparently I have to get use to the fact that there are always going to be 13-year-old versions of me running around defending the faith … only they wear adult clothing and do adult jobs.

It’s mind blowing.

Thirteen-year olds should be doing stuff like this: http://i.imgur.com/D7c2j.jpg

They shouldn’t be defending their parents’ ridiculous religion. For once, I’d like to see a “Christian” get all uppity about Islam or Hinduism. Then I’d know he had a mind sitting between those ears of his.

All the best,

Jeremy “Feedin’ the Trolls” Witteveen

Jeremy,

>>Reading Dan’s “logic” is like ripping a page out of one of my childhood journals and publishing it on this blog … 20 years later.

Thanks for admitting the truth in my logical position. Otherwise, you would just be accused of an Ad hominem attack and nothing more, if that is all what you said. I am willing to understand that your lack of comment on the subject, and merely an attack, shows your frustration to something conflicting inside of yourself and not actually directed outward. Plus your lack of any position on this matter quite telling.

I wonder if you kick Talulah when you get home too? Poor thing. Misdirected anger is harmful to others. Seek help. Bullies and cowards hurt others instead of examining the ORIGIN of that anger. No dog deserves that type of owner.

>>For once, I’d like to see a “Christian” get all uppity about Islam or Hinduism.

Is that what you profess as “logical”? *snicker

>>Jeremy “Feedin’ the Trolls” Witteveen

You must be full. I am sure you’re enjoying the self feed tube, but sit this one out and digest a bit. :7)

Yawn. Somebody wake me when someone with a pulse enters the conversation.

Jeremy,
Sorry to bore you. My next three planned posts should raise some hair. In the meantime, I have been woefully busy with a new job, a great conversation that you haven’t been privy to, a few arguments on other sites, trying to get my ass in gear on a few projects (I am a class A procrastinator), and now finding out that I got summoned for jury duty. I plan to re-blog something as well this week, and turn a discussion I’m having with a Christian into a post as well.

Proverbs 30:5

Psalm 137:9

In fairness, Jeremy- that passage says that believers will be happy murdering children.
That, at times, has seemed more than plausible.

My favorite Sunday School song was always, “If you’re happy and you know it, dash babies against the rocks! … if you’re happy and you know it, dash babies …”

Ah, the fondest of memories.

The daughters of Babylon deserved it!

Nice Quote mine: Verse 7 states “Remember, Lord, what the Edomites said that day at Jerusalem:” … so you must take it in context.

“As an adult, Esau rashly sold his inheritance to Jacob for a bowl of red soup (Genesis 25:30-34), and he hated his brother afterward. Esau became the father of the Edomites and Jacob became the father of the Israelites, and the two nations continued to struggle through most of their history.” ~http://www.gotquestions.org/Edomites.html

So IN CONTEXT it was the hate filled Edomites that states they wish babies dashed against rocks. If it were in today’s times. It would be the Atheists wishing that to the Christians. In fact, with well over 53 million babies that have been torn to shreds in women’s wombs, it looks as this “hate filled wish” is alive and well in the minds of the unbelievers.

“Everyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life residing in him.” ~1 John 3:15

There’s no quote mining. Go read the chapter. Babylon was the enemy if the Jews. That’s God talking. You really should learn to read your bible.

IN CONTEXT:

7 Remember, Lord, what the Edomites said
that day at Jerusalem:
“Destroy it! Destroy it
down to its foundations!”
8 Daughter Babylon, doomed to destruction,
happy is the one who pays you back
what you have done to us.
9 Happy is he who takes your little ones
and dashes them against the rocks.

~Psalm 137:7-9

You really should learn to read your bible…indeed.

And king James — and many translations — reads daughters of Babylon. What is your problem?

Now that you’re aware you don’t know the bible as well as you thought, are you willing to compromise some of your fallacious ideas?

Every baby slamming against rocks word of the Lord IS flawless.

Praise, praise, the baby bashing Lord.

[…] serve to undermine the reliability of the information the Bible records.  Any skeptic website or blog worth its salt will have a section dedicated to the real or apparent inconsistencies and […]

[…] Many skeptics will charge that the Bible is full of contradictions, inconsistencies, and errors.  Christians–I among them–insist there are reasonable explanations to reconcile these difficulties, and that the Bible as God’s Word was superintended by Him through human authors, and is inerrant.  That in fact, they are merely perceived contradictions, inconsistencies, and errors (discrepancies) and not actual problems. […]

Wow what a lot of work!

If you are hankering to do another it would be so interesting to see which verses have been proven false like god made birds before he made fish and four legged winged creatures. I guess you could have a flat out wrong section and an unsubstantiated section. Whatever.

I really like the poster. That is amazing.

It is not his by any stretch of the imagination. Besides, as I have said before you cannot fault the Bible for modern speciation and classifications. argumentum ad ignorantiam. There are no contradictions. But, tell me, how do you know your reasoning about this, or anything, is valid?

I see Dan is still following my old posts. I thought, Dan, that we had gotten past all this stuff in our previous conversations. Presuppositionalism is patently ridiculous, obviously false, and totally unworthy of anything other than derision and ridicule. I humoured you for several posts and ably pointed out several (and I’m sure not all) places where presuppositionalism fails and remains an inherently false, grossly disingenuous idea. Unless you have something new to offer, I would politely ask you to go back to trolling atheists who do not know any better on a different blog- repeated falsehoods are not welcome on mine.
Thanks,
George

[…] Biblical Contradictions in Chart Form. | Misplaced Grace Anybody who lives their life based on a story with so many errors (and then claim it's the infallible word of God) are delusional at best. […]

The reality of the situation is that most of scripture was passed down by word of mouth for hundreds of years, thereby opening these stories to garbling, or embellishment. Many of these are obviously derived from earlier myths from older civilizations like Egypt or Sumer. And to say that no man dare edit “god’s word” presumes there is one.

Are you absolutely certain of that? If so, HOW are you absolutely certain? I mean sure, you barely assert that was the case but do you have ANY evidence for that assertion?

Do you even concede that an omniscient, omnipotent, and omnibenevolent being could reveal things to us, such that we can be certain of them?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...