Random Religious Texting: The Great Commission Goes Wireless!

Posted on April 25, 2012. Filed under: Apologetics, Atheism, Internet Etiquette, Original Sin, Personal, Religion |

So I’m sitting at my desk at work the other day just wrapping up with a customer, and my cell phone beeps with an incoming text message.  (I like my phone to make an old-school “beeper” sound when I get text messages, because I’m an ironic hipster.  Hey!  Remember beepers?) 

Anyway, I assume it is my wife, since she texts me about 247 times daily- and since it’s nearing the end of my shift I assume she wants a bottle of wine to have with dinner or that we are out of sour cream to have with the Greek Potatoes.  I check my phone as soon as the customer leaves, and there is a message from a number I don’t recognize.  It’s from a different area code- 519 (Western Ontario, about 5 hours away)- I don’t know anybody who lives there.  The gentleman sending me the message is Philip W. (I assume, since he signed the text “Philip W.”) and he’s either mistyping phone numbers into his phone or randomly texting people  about their “walk with God”.  I’m not sure.

Here is what he wrote- and how I responded:

 

 

I was really hoping he would have texted me back.  That’s the “great” thing about the Great Commission though, you only need to speak the Word- if people don’t want to listen that’s their problem….. even if it is cryptic and insincere.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Random Religious Texting: The Great Commission Goes Wireless!”

RSS Feed for Misplaced Grace Comments RSS Feed

I am not a fan of “oh well, I said it, now it’s out of my hands…” evangelism. I think evangelists use it to pad their stats, so to speak. “Well, I share the gospel with X# of people per day, I’ve done my job”. I don’t know, I figure it would turn more people off than turn people toward.

To be sure, drive by evangelism does little to nothing to advance understanding or faith.
It also gives people like me a chance to mock and ridicule you- I’m not so pithy with people who evangelize in context and sincerity.

You’s a funny guy George🙂

I wouldn’t call that text “evangelistic” but I’ll play along.

G. “That’s the ”great” thing about the Great Commission though, you only need to speak the Word-…”

L. Totally agree! The “Word” (Gospel) is the “Means of Grace” God uses to call His elect. “It is the power of God unto salvation…” (Rom 1:16). As preaching i.e. evangelism “sent ones” are the means that He (God) uses to spread the Gospel (Rom 10:13-15).

G. “…if people don’t want to listen that’s their problem…..”
L. Right again! It is their problem! They all know God exists by the created order (general revelation)… “So they are without excuse.” (Rom 1:20) . And that the law was written on their heart, their conscience also bears witness” (2:15)“…Their condemnation is just!” (3:8).
L. Unregenerate man hates God, His message, and His messengers!
“For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot (Rom 8:7). “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first.” (Jn 15:18)
G. “…even if it is cryptic and insincere.”
L. Neither motive, nor sincerity has anything to do w/effective evangelism. God has everything to do with it.
“Some, to be sure, are preaching Christ even from envy and strife, but some also from good will; 16 the latter do it out of love, knowing that I am appointed for the defense of the gospel; 17 the former proclaim Christ out of selfish ambition rather than from pure motives, thinking to cause me distress in my imprisonment. 18 What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed; and in this I rejoice. (Phil 1:15-18)
L. Even if it is to “pad stats!” There is no place for human pride in evangelism, Salvation is the gift of God by grace through faith by the preaching of His saints. (Eph 2:8-10).
G. “To be sure, drive by evangelism does little to nothing to advance understanding or faith.”
“…faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.” (Rom 10:17)
L. Furthermore, How would you know?
“The natural person (man w/o the Spirit) does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and “HE IS NOT ABLE TO UNDERSTAND THEM” because they are spiritually discerned.” (1 Cor 2:14) (emp mine).
L. also…
“So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it” (Isaiah 55:11).
L. Because of your rejection of Christ, you can’t know anything for sure. You’ve built your house on sand!
J.B. Jr said: “I am not a fan of “oh well, I said it, now it’s out of my hands…” evangelism.”
L. The outcome is never in the evangelists hands…
“So then neither he who plants is anything nor he who waters, but God who gives the increase.” 1 Cor 3:7.
“The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear its sound, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.” (Jn 3:8)
“18 For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. (1 Cor 1:18)
And this: “…I will destroy the wisdom of the wise,
and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.”
20 Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? 21 For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, it pleased God through the folly of what we preach to save those who believe. 22 For Jews demand signs and Greeks seek wisdom, 23 but we preach Christ crucified a stumbling block to Jews and folly to Gentiles, 24 but to those who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25 For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.

L. This is the testimony of the apostate! You know the Gospel, you can sit in judgment of someone else’s (Christ’s) servant (Rom 14:4), yet you continue to reject the Gospel. There is no amount of knowledge that can convince a dead sinner to repent and trust in Christ! This is the work of God alone!
“…Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He has sent.” (Jn 6:29)
Get it? Not the work of “man” (i.e. “free will”) that you believe, but the work of God!
“But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, 13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.” (Jn 1:12-13). And,
“So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy.” (Rom 9:16).
G. “It also gives people like me a chance to mock and ridicule you-…”
“Remember how the enemy has mocked you, LORD,
how foolish people have reviled your name.” (Ps 74:18).
“Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap.” (Gal 6:7)
L. Whatever you do/don’t do, for/to a believer, you do/don’t do to Christ! (Matt 25:40ff)
George, the seriousness of your continued suppression of the gospel can result in the hardening of your heart. You do not want to become like the ones Paul speaks of in Romans 1:24ff where it say’s: “And God gave them over…” God will not contend w/you forever.

Lamont,
As I’m sure you have heard already, I put little stock in the bible. So quoting it as though it is a factual document does very little to sway my opinion. This, of course, is exactly what I was getting at in my last few lines.

I respect your right to your opinion- and give you credit (as I do John, and Nelson, and the other theists here) for responding when you are prompted. I want your feedback. It helps me be a better human being. What struck me in the case I point out here is that I prompted noone. Effective communication is a response to specific and relevent stimulus- not randomly throwing around religious text messages.

I’m aware of every passage you cited. I’ve read and pondered them all. It’s not that I am unaware- it is that they are not remotely convincing.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

