Germane to Multiple Things I have Been Reading Lately….

Posted on February 27, 2012. Filed under: Atheism, Global Warming, Politics, Religion, Science |

 

There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been.  The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that “my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.”

-Isaac Asimov

That about sums it up.

Via Facebook (Thanks Oscar!)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Germane to Multiple Things I have Been Reading Lately….”

RSS Feed for Misplaced Grace Comments RSS Feed

Reblogged this on Le Café Witteveen and commented:
When I saw Oscar post this to Facebook, I wanted it. But then George W. beat me to it, so I am lazily reblogging from him.
Thanks, guys!

This reminds me that I need to read a book I bought a while back called “Anti-Intellectualism In American Life” by Richard Hofstadter. It’s a classic on this topic that was written in the 60’s. So many books to read and so little time!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

