A Three Sentance Book Review Of Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

Posted on April 30, 2011. Filed under: Atheism, Atheist Ethics, Canadian Politics, Humour, Random |

This is the best thing I have read on the internet ever!

 There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old’s life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs.

From the comments on this site (originally attributed to John Rogers- thanks be to Mary for the correction…)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “A Three Sentance Book Review Of Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand”

RSS Feed for Misplaced Grace Comments RSS Feed

Funny. Have you seen that there’s apparently an “Atlas Shrugged” movie out there?

Apparently, it has opened to bad reviews.

:: snickers ::

The person who left the quote on Movieline swiped it from John Rogers, a screenwriter and contributing blogger at http://www.kungfumonkey.blogspot.com. The quote gained notoriety when Paul Krugman quoted it (misattributing it to “anonymous”) in “I’m Ellsworth Twohey!”

I have no idea why I bring this all up. I’ve also spent countless years fired up about the fact that Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is for all intents and purposes a plagiarism of Venus on the Half Shell, authored under the pseudonym Kilgore Trout (a Kurt Vonnegut character appearing in several of his books). Philip Jose Farmer was the writer behind the pseudonym. You can still get used copies of Venus on the Half Shell. Its fun old-school punk sci-fi.

Mary,
I will happily change the attribution of the quote, I always strive to credit people for their ideas. I would hate for my work to be used without proper credit, and it has happened.

You did not need to go into the explanation of Kilgore Trout. I am a huge Vonnegut fan, and Cat’s Cradle is my second favorite book of all time. I have never heard that HGTG was a plaigerism, I will definitely check it out. I recently heard that Brave New World was also heavily borrowed from an earlier work of dystopian fiction, and have added the alleged source material to my summer reading list. This will be the Summer of the Dystopian Fiction, since I have also aquired a copy of The Handmaid’s Tale on the reccomendation of several friends.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you make it a habit!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

