A Year in Review: Misplaced Grace

Posted on January 4, 2011. Filed under: Astrology and Related Bunk, Atheism, Global Warming, Humour, Personal, Politics, Religion, Science, Trolls, You're Not Helping |

This has been a fun first year of blogging.  I graduated from a chronic lurker and occasional commenter on other blogs to having my own platform with which to discuss those topics that really interest me.  I want to give new readers a bit of a review of my first year of blogging so that everyone can catch up on issues they may find interesting but missed the first time around.  I also want to take this opportunity to go over some of my upcoming plans for posts and projects in the new year so that I can get feedback to help shape what direction I go with this blog and it’s content.

Misplaced Grace had it’s first post back on June 10th of 2010.   After the required “Welcome to My Blog” post, I chose Anthropogenic Global Warming as my first subject for a full post.  My WordPress widget tells me that that first post received a grand total of 5 views, the first one being a month after this blog started. Not exactly a winner out of the gates.   The first post that ever received a comment, as well as the first post that ever got a significant number of hits was about Andrew Rosenberg, a teenager who got in over his head by e-mailing PZ Myers.  One of the comments turned out to be from Andrew himself, and this prompted two more posts where I tried to answer his questions about evolution, religion, and science.  These posts turned out to be among my most popular, as well as contributing to many new pageviews long after the posts were published.   The You’re Not Helping debacle got me the busiest single day of traffic ever to my blog, and still gets regular hits.  My Apologetics and Apostasy series came next, followed by a sometimes rocky exchange with a theist when I commented on her blog and linked a post that turned into a great and thought provoking conversation.  My long and drawn out argument with astrologers over at Lousy Canuck became the impetus for some cross posts as well as a challenge with James Alexander that has not yet come to fruition.  My commentary on the Wikileaks/Assange rape case finished off the year with a bang.  I joined Planet Atheism this fall, and it has certainly helped.  So here is a breakdown of my first year of blogging, both statistically and personally, with added commentary.

Misplaced Grace 2010

Total posts: 40– This breaks down to about 6 or 7 a month, a number I would like to increase in the New Year.  My goal is to have 2 or 3 posts a week.  So hopefully my 2012 New Year message will have a total around 110-150 posts for the year.

Total Pageviews: About 2800– That averages to about 70 views per post, and I would be pretty happy to keep that pace.  My goal for 2011 then would be somewhere around 10,000 views.

Total Comments: 215– A bit deceptive because I reply to almost every comment, so let’s half that number and say 107.  That is less than three comments per post, and the number I would most like to change.  I need to make posts that demand feedback; something that I have had trouble doing thus far….

Busiest single day: October 6th, 2010, 69 views–  WOW! I remember that day and it was a real high.  That number seems really low, but to me it was really exciting.  I would love to get over 100 views in a single day this year.

Most viewed post:  Polaris Software:  A Critical Analysis–  Other than my homepage, this post has generated the most views at 292.  Every one of my astrology posts has had more than 50 views, making them pretty popular.

Least Viewed Post: Anthropogenic Global Warming and the Denial of Science– Only 5 views.  Sad, really.  I kind of like that post…..

My Favorite Post:Does Righteousness Recuse One From A Rape Investigation–  I really like this post and I really liked writing it.  I also enjoyed the discussion that ensued.

What To Expect In 2011

Here is a list of posts I have been sitting on for the coming year, as well as some projects I have planned.  Commentary is appreciated.

1. The Ian Juby Project: I plan to pick apart some YouTube clips from Ian Juby of the  Portable Creation Museum Project.  This guy lives in my backyard, just down the road in the Ottawa Valley in Ontario.  He runs a traveling creation museum that aims to spread creationist propaganda to any group willing to pay his expenses.  Lots of lies, half truths, and misrepresentations.  I want to address as many as I can, to offer a resource for people being shoveled his brand of bullshit.

2. My Conversation with Jehovah’s Witnesses: I have been getting these people at my door lately and want to make the most of it.  I find that for a group of people who go door to door trying to sell their religion, not many of us really know what exactly they believe.  I am going to take one for the team and sit them down for a series of conversations, which I will blog about here.  Any submissions of questions would be appreciated, as well as suggestions for how I should format the exchange.  I am kind of excited about this project, I am really interested about where JW’s stand on a host of issues.

3.  Evolution and Science Debates in Meatspace:  I have a creationist friend who is getting a basic cable television project developed on the intersection of faith and science.  I  will be a contributor and presenter in parts of this series and I hope to keep everyone abreast of developments as they emerge.

4.  Expanded Canadian Content:  I want to try and focus on Canadian issues and content in the coming year.  This will hopefully include a few more posts on Canadian history and politics, as well as some current events stories.  An election is looming, and this should provide fodder for more posts with Canadian content.

5. Tying up Loose Ends:  I had some posts this year where I wanted to do more research or work and have fresh posts on the topic.  In some cases I made commitments that remain unfulfilled.  I hope to sew these up this year, with an end to my Apologetics and Apostasy series, a meeting of my challenge to Polaris astrology software and other subjects. 

Congratulations to Pope Honky I: Self-appointed Pope of Reasonable Men

Jeremy over at Cafe Witteveen, has been in an ongoing argument with Catholic Troll David.  David has suggested that Jeremy is appointing himself Pope by taking passages of the bible and interpreting them verbatim instead of twisting them into the way he would like them to be interpreted.  Join in on the fun over at Cafe Witteveen!  Remember to swear fealty to our new self appointed Pope!  He will surely bless you with a Honk! or two….

The New-Newer Non-Debate

Jason has started a new thread over at Lousy Canuck to deal with more astrology bunkum, this time from a new astrologer with new claims of a “proof” for astrology.  I expect this to go about as well as the last few discussions, I’ll definitely get my two cents in at some point.

Special Thanks to All

For my first post of the new year, I want to thank everybody who has supported this blog since my first post on June 10th of 2010.  Thank you to all who have taken the time to share your opinions and allow me to share mine.

I also want to give a special mention to Jason and Dan, of Lousy Canuck and Camels with Hammers respectively.  Without the help of both of you I would most certainly not be blogging today.  I cut my teeth commenting on your blogs, and would not have had the confidence to do this myself without your support and input.  Both of you have offered me support, technically and otherwise, that I am truly indebted to.

I also want to give a special shout out to some of my regular readers who help to keep the discussions going.  Sinned,  Jeremy (Pope Honky I), Minion, and Ahab have all been wonderful.  My conversations with Kate helped drive the direction of several of my posts and Daniel has been a pleasure to speak with for a christian perspective.  My posts involving Andrew Rosenberg received some of my highest pageviews, and his part in those discussions really gave this young blog a boost.  Hitch, too, has been an occasional commenter I admire.

I look forward to seeing some new faces on this blog, and to hopefully get myself some regular readers/commenters.  I hope everyone finds something of interest in my new batch of posts for 2011!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “A Year in Review: Misplaced Grace”

RSS Feed for Misplaced Grace Comments RSS Feed

That’s a pretty damned good first few months, to be quite honest. My first few posts had nothing to do with what would eventually become my blog focus, so at least you had an idea what you’d be talking about right out of the starting gates.

Keep on keepin’ on, dude.

I look forward to hearing about this portable creationism museum and your encounters with Jehovah’s Witnesses.

What on earth is Meatspace? I picture a starry expanse of outer space filled with giant hamburgers and steaks instead of planets.

The opposite of Cyberspace, it’s where us meat-puppets hang out. 😀

Not a bad start, if I do say so. I haven’t even bothered to look at the stats for my website. I mean, I’m narcissistic and all, but I’m not THAT bad as of yet.
Mind you, it would help to actually make some thought-provoking posts like you instead of just posting two or three nerd videos a month like JThibault!

If you want to chat about Jehovah’s Witnesses, just let me know: my father-in-law is an elder in one of their congregations. I’ve also downloaded a massive collection of almost every one of their publications. I’ve only picked through a bit of it, especially looking into the years around when they had their failed prophecies.

All the best in 2011!

I wasn’t aware of my narcissism until just now, thanks for the heads up! I thought it might be nice to analyze my own blog, set some goals for next year and let people know what I like and don’t like about my blog and the experience thus far.
I’m also grateful to get some feedback on the posts planned for 2011. I really think it might be instructive to understand what makes different theologies unique. I start with JW’s because they seem the most accessible. I hope to add some other religions in the future, using this experience as a template.
I also look forward to covering the failed prophesy of 2011, due to start May 21st with the rapture, end times to follow in October. My guess is that no one is worthy of the rapture come May 21st, that buys them time till October. Read my first post on the subject “‘Time To Get Rapture Ready’-Pope Honky Reports“.

Fine, fine. Change where I said “I’m not narcissistic enough” to “I’m too goddamned lazy”, because to be honest, that’s what I really meant.
I applaud what you are trying to accomplish with your year-end review. I was going to steal that idea from you, but again: too lazy. People who set goals and accept feedback on how they plan to accomplish those goals tend to be successful – I’ll wager you’ll do just fine in 2011.

I’ve considered adding my blog to Planet Atheism but I think I suffer from a lack of confidence about the quality of my writing. It’s one thing to fart around with this as a hobby…

Ah well anyway, many congrats for your continued successes!

I started a month later than you got 200 views in one day and get about 1000 views a month and have about 3500, I have about 120 posts and less than 20 replies, I wonder how people some how have a urge to comment on your blog.
My Ian Juby posts have been rushed often and I want to see your take on many of his arguments I want to do the same… when I find the time.

I started a month later than you got 200 views in one day and get about 1000 views a month and have about 3500, I have about 120 posts…

Show off.
I can give you tips for commenting if you want them. I’m still stewing over some of Juby’s YouTube content, expect my first post in the next few weeks, then hopefully at least one a week from there.

Couldn’t resist.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

