2012: The Year That Was……

Posted on January 7, 2013. Filed under: Atheism, Atheist Ethics, Children, Parenting, Personal |

blogging1Two years ago at about this time, I had a roundup of my blogging year.   The blog was 7 months old, I was just making the transition from being a “longtime commenter” to being my own blogger, and the whole enterprise was fresh and exciting.

In seven months I had written 40 posts, had 215 comments, my busiest day was 69 pageviews and the blogging world was my oyster.

By this time last year I had published 83 total posts, had 1183 comments (well, half that- since that counts my comments, and I almost always respond), my busiest day was 270 pageviews.

In a whole year I had mustered 43 posts.

This year, I managed just 21 posts, had 193 comments (again, half that), and had a post go semi-viral netting me my best-ever day of 477 pageviews.

In short, 2012 was a blogging flop for me.  I had little motivation to write and I went from having almost 100 regular visits a day down to a pretty steady 20 visits the past few months.

What The Hell Happened?

Here’s the thing:  I don’t know exactly what happened.  There are a few contenders for my bout of  “Creative Depression”- as Glendon Mellow called it in the great post he had recently about his struggles with it.  The best way to explain why I have been largely absent from blogging is to do the opposite of what I did two years ago when I posted that first “Year In Review”.  The best way to explain it is to avoid stats and figures- the best way to explain it is to get personal.

So here is my “Year In Review”- the one that really matters.   Here is a list of ups and downs in 2012- things that distracted me, enthralled me, or annoyed me.  This is the year that was…….

  1. I welcomed my second daughter (and fifth child) into the world.  Geneva Belle Blanche Waye was born
    genny

    She gets her hair from her mom……

    on January 6th, 2012.  Having kids never gets old.  It gets expensive, but it never gets old.

  2.  I lost my job in February.  Not the best timing, I must confess.  The good news is that I found another job pretty quickly at a place I had worked before.  Being unemployed gets old fast…..
  3. During the break between jobs, I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to be the guest blogger at Le Cafe Witteveen for my friend Jeremy.  What an amazing experience, and proof positive that I can be a regular blogger- so long as I am motivated by my duty to a friend.
  4. My laptop got FUBAR’d.  This is what happens when you let your 12 year old son complete the trifecta of clicking happily on any link he sees, leaving the laptop in places my 4 year old son can reach it (and proceed to rip 1/2 the keys off), and then stress the charging port until it doesn’t charge any longer.  I had to switch to my “emergency laptop” running XP, with 1GB RAM, no webcam, and no mic.  I’m not entirely sure if we are spoiled by technology in 2012 or if we just patiently suffered through horrible technology in 2005.
  5. I turned my Facebook into an atheist networking bonanza.  Thanks to Dan Finke (If you don’t know who he is, you should) I was able to become “friends” with a bunch of people who identify as atheists.
  6. The atheist community forecast was upgraded (or downgraded) from a tempest in a teapot to a shitstorm in a shallow pool.
  7. I joined Twitter (yay!!!!)- then proceeded to cause a major rift in my family by tweeting my anger about the way Islam treats women (boo…)

    Who has two thumbs and is about to alienate his whole family? This guy.

    Who has two thumbs and is about to alienate his whole family? This guy.

  8. My brother got married and I did not go to the wedding (For an explanation, see #7).
  9. I became obsessed with atheist moral theory.
  10. I wrote a popular post about Tone Trolling
  11. I co-founded (and then completely ignored- sorry about that!) a skeptics group in my hometown.
  12. I got deeper into the Scouting movement, becoming the leader of my son’s Cub pack.  (They don’t officially allow atheists, but, hey….)

So those are some of the important and/or annoying and/or enraging moments of this past year for me.  Not all of them are responsible for my lack of blogging, and ultimately it is myself that I have to blame.

My next post is going to tease you (yes, you) about what to expect from me in the New Year.  I’m going to have some blogging resolutions, and some totally unspecific/ mysterious announcements of things that are in the works for me over the next year.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “2012: The Year That Was……”

RSS Feed for Misplaced Grace Comments RSS Feed

nice.

I lost the password to my 5 blogs and had to start over with a new one

I’ve got you bookmarked.

:)

thanks George

I’ve been a bit out of being an active commenter on other people’s blogs

focussing on recovery process stuff

Good to see you’re still around, George. I’d love to add you back to my bookmarks if you start writing again.

Myself, I’ve stopped posting at my blog for personal reasons that I won’t get into here. I might pick it back up again, but don’t see that happening for the next little while. I’m still lurking on my favorite blogs, but cannot put the amount of time into derailing internet arguments with massive amounts of snark like I used to.

Welcome to 2013 – may it be better than the shitstorm (as you so eloquently put it) that was 2012. I hope you kept the Saturn in Saturnalia this year!

Sorry to hear you are not blogging, Sinned. Glad though, to hear that you will still try to follow and comment. I always look forward to your comments, and have depended on them at times when I wasn’t able to be on top of things. Maybe we can talk about the personal stuff over e-mail some time…..

I am glad that you are here. That sounds like a good year.

What a year! Little Geneva is so adorable!! And so sorry to hear about the rift in the fam–ouch. I know that ultimately (regardless of how it all went down), your heart is in the right place in trying to take on 1/3 of the world’s population in order to defend your new SIL’s equality as a human, something I adore you for. :) Just sorry that anyone had to take what you meant the wrong way. Sigh. We are a misunderstood lot, aren’t we?

Looking forward to that new post. I went into shock when I saw this notification in my inbox!

Reblogged this on Le Café Witteveen and commented:
George W. and I have been talking about him contributing more here. In the meantime, catch up with Dubya … see what he’s up to.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

